Skyr, Granola, and Berries

Before considering how and what I was eating very much, I was only a morning person when it was Sunday brunch out at a restaurant (with a mimosa in hand, no less). So when I started eating differently, I realized that I was missing out on a lot by grabbing a granola bar on my way out the door. I still wanted something easy, though, and one of the answers I came up with was this wonderful meal.

Skyr is an Icelandic dairy product, very similar to yogurt. Skyr is actually made very similarly to Greek yogurt, as it is strained and it has low sugar and high protein. Now most people have never heard of skyr, or if they have, they’ve just called it yogurt and dug right in. The popularity of skyr is on the rise, and I discovered it through the brand, Siggi’s. Their simple little white cups with cute sketches of vanilla and fruit intrigued me, but what was inside kept me coming. Another benefit: you don’t have to go to Whole Foods to get it (they have the widest variety of flavors, but you don’t have to go there!). Stop ‘n Shop carries Siggi’s, too!

I love the vanilla flavor Siggi’s, but also love adding a few of my own ingredients. For granola, I typically go with Nature Valley’s Oats ‘n’ Honey Protein Granola, which adds an extra 10g of protein. However, one with a little less sugar might be a much better option for you. Your call!

Finally, I love to top off this breakfast with some fiber in the form of fruit. Blackberries are a personal favorite, and I love breaking them up with my spoon to make the whole dish pretty purple. Strawberries, raspberries, or blueberries would also be delish.

In short:

  • 1 serving cup (or 1/2 cup, if from the large container) of Siggi’s Vanilla Skyr
  • 1/2 cup of Nature Valley’s Oats ‘n’ Honey Protein Granola
  • Handful of blackberries

Nutrition:

  • Protein – 24g
  • Carbohydrates – 55g
  • Fiber-11g
  • Sugar-26g
  • Fat-5g

Substitution options:

  • Not a fan of Skyr? Use 0% Greek Yogurt!
  • Like a certain granola? Use that! Just watch the serving size!
  • Prefer something other than fruit? A spot of honey would be really good. Or simply go without!

If you want to learn more about the items in this meal, go to:

 

Leave a Reply

